Learn how the Registrar Lock option works and also just how it will help you safeguard your domain name.
All generic top-level domain name extensions and certain country-code ones support a security lock feature whose purpose is to impede unsolicited transfers of existing domains. Lots of domain registry organizations that oversee ccTLDs that do not support this option are in the process of adopting it for greater security and for the convenience of the domain owners. A domain can be transferred only if it is unlocked and only a person who has been granted access to the account with the current registrar can achieve that. New domains are registered with the lock option activated on purpose, so as to prevent any unwanted transfer attempts. The lock option is among the safety measures for regulating the transfer of existing domain names between registrar companies that have been adopted over the years.
Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting
The Hepsia hosting Control Panel, which comes with each and every shared hosting plan that we offer, will give you complete command over your domain names. You’ll find all domains registered through us conveniently listed in alphabetical order in a separate section of the Control Panel. Those whose extensions support the registrar lock option will have a tiny padlock icon on their right. By clicking the icon, you can see if the specific domain is locked or unlocked and you can modify the current status by clicking once more – the procedure is as straightforward as that. You won’t have to wait for the update to take effect or for our company to do anything, as the status change takes effect instantly, even if you notice something different on WHOIS lookup sites. After all, it takes time for such sites to ‘refresh’ the information that they show.